The City of Opp operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. Candidates run for election in the district in which they live. Mayoral candidates must run citywide. Municipal elections are non-partisan and candidates are not required to declare allegiance to any political party.

Both the Mayor and Council are elected by the people to a four year term. There is no limit to the number of terms that a Council member or Mayor can serve. Presently, there are five council districts within the City of Opp.

Mayor and City Council

Mayor and City Council

Left to right: Councilman Gary Strickland, Councilman Skip Spurlin, Councilman LaVaughn Hines, Mayor Becky Bracke, Councilwoman Charlotte Hunt, Councilman Chad Jackson.

Council meetings are held at 6p.m. every first Monday of the month in the Council Chambers located at 101 N Main Street. For more information call (334) 493-4572.